top of page

Embracing Change

20th Vs 21st Century Being in the 20th or 21st century makes a difference, but you cannot disqualify one or the other; these are simply different centuries, different times, and history is made to learn from it. The education of the 20th century formed responsible people. If it is true, we learned by heart; but we exercised our memory and were able to challenge our minds by learning the phone numbers of each person we met. Now we do not know the phone number or the closest relatives, and if we lose our cell phone, we are cut off. In that respect, I prefer 20th-century learning by heart. What to say about mathematics; It was so important to memorize the multiplication tables that I still use them every day. Now the students do not learn the tables, they are taught techniques to know the result of the multiplication, and effortless methods are used to learn them, and yet the students find it challenging to learn the tables. On the other hand, now in the 21st century, I am fascinated by the idea of ​​not having to do research to do my work in so many books.

During the time I studied, which was all in the 20th century, I had to have extensive libraries and many books to do research; It meant going to the school library or the public library while now I can read online in the comfort of my home; without fussing or taking copies of books or writing large amounts of note-taking sheets. So I prefer the 21st century living the experience of this DLL where I do everything through my computer in the comfort of my home.

According to Grant Lichtman's video, we adapt to a medium to circumstances, not precisely changes. The rapid changes that are currently taking place require us to be prepared and actively involved in the changes knowing that it is changing—dynamically evolving by ourselves and being permeable to changes. Preparing our students for the future, but I would complement you that it would be impossible to change or be prepared for the future without knowing the past. Nelly Roldan

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page