top of page

What really works? Collaborative Discussion

Why ineffectiveness?

PL is ineffective; according to Kristin Daniels, sometimes teachers or the community receive the handout with all information, but this will stack down at the desk because teachers do not know where to start. In my opinion, this is true, but sometimes teachers have many papers to fill up, requirements from the District and school that they do not have enough time to complete all requirements. Another point that PL becomes ineffective is because teachers have the conviction that their way of teaching is the best, and this does not need change. "They have the power." For my part, I enjoy the PL, and I try to put into practice the aids and resources that they present to us there. These are usually useful, and there is always something to put into practice. I will identify with Carol's example from Kristin's video. I try everything new because I feel my students join my class and motivate them to learn differently. When I was working as a substitute teacher, I had a great experience going to other schools; even though they were all teaching the same subject, presenting it to the class was unique, and then I learned a lot about these techniques. Then I can recognize that the traditional way to teach will work. However, learners were apathetic to learning, lazy, and reluctant while using technology was funny, and learners showed that they were passionate about learning. In my experience, when I ask my students to read a paper book vs. read an eBook from Learning A-Z, they prefer the second one. I identify with Carol since I always try to learn and innovate in my classes. But in my organization, I know of three types of teachers. I always focus on working and collaborating with those who show interest, even if they don't know about technology, I offer to help them; but as long as they see the desire to learn and not just to have things done for them, not to make an effort at all. However, I need to share with everyone, and if this is possible to help some of them, I can do it. The Mirage report indicates that much money is being spent on PL in the District that was studied on more professional learning courses during 2013 and 2014—preparing new teachers with some experience; offering various district-wide professional development; people who provide instructional support. I believe that PL can be offered to teachers and that we are the ones who choose the most beneficial, according to personal needs or development desires. In addition, the time dedicated to each one should not be so extensive, taking into account the multiple activities that they must carry out. But, unfortunately, our scholar district has been giving support for ample time, producing apathy between teachers and sometimes assisting only for the obligation. Therefore, I consider that if those PL were more specific according to with needs or wants of the teachers, it is probable that all of them would enjoy more. Moreover, according to The Mirage Report (The Mirage, 2015), new teachers are more participate and probably take advantage of it because all is new for them. Therefore I consider they should be more focused on the needs of each of the teachers and not be general.


Reference

The mirage. (2015, August 4). TNTP. Retrieved October 21, 2021, from https://tntp.org/publications/view/evaluation-and-development/the-mirage-confronting-the-truth-about-our-quest-for-teacher-development TEDx Talks. (2013, November 6). Empowering the teacher technophobe: Kristin Daniels at TEDxBurnsvilleED. YouTube. Retrieved October 21, 2021, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=puiNcIFJTCU&feature=youtu.be Hill, H. C. (2015, September 30). NEPC Review: The mirage: Confronting the hard truth about our quest for teacher development (TNTP, August 2015). National Education Policy Center. Retrieved October 20, 2021, from https://nepc.colorado.edu/thinktank/review-tntp-mirage

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page