top of page

Want to innovate?



Become a "now- ist"

The brain of people with difficulties or needs works in a completely different way, which leads them to be creative and innovative. Although the changes in education have been taking place with the arrival of technology, they have not

been rapid. However, with the arrival of the pandemic, it becomes a pressing need to make changes in education and understand that technology is not just a tool. It is the revolution of our time. The Education models that we have been learning have principles which Joy Ito describes, first - Pull Over Push, which is the principle of taking resources from different parts. With these, we build our model according to the needs of the students. Learning about education in this principle, I can understand that education was all I received from others to train me, but learning is all I do for myself. Tradicional education is not bad, and it is what was had, was used, and worked. However, it needs a change now, a renewal, and a new approach; It is no longer necessary to learn simply by memorizing and acquiring information that you may not understand clearly. Now you must learn for yourself at your own pace and understand what you are studying. This learning model makes me think when in my country, Colombia, I studied to be a lawyer, and my teachers told me, “it is not necessary to learn all laws.” Laws are already made. Lawyers only need to read laws in the cod, and then lawyers need to understand the essence of the law and how it is applied, and in what cases. They were right, and now I must use it with my students. Another principle that Joy Ito talks about is Compas on maps, in which the idea of ​​collecting data is not very exact since it is general and does not specify for each of the needs and each of the students. Listening to Joy Ito, I want to be a "now-ists," but this is not easy because eradicating everything that we have acquired over the years takes a process of acceptance and commitment to change. However, of course, it is not impossible, and that is why we are on this path of learning and detachment from what we bring, and we are acquiring new ideas of thought and teaching models. I like to see that I am flexible to changes and incorporate them into my daily life with ease; I am even excited about implementing the learned models. I am sure that in my school, both the director and my team leader are entirely open to changes, and more so if they are for the benefit of the students. My commitment is with myself and with the students; That is why I study and learn more every day. I understand and associate all this with my daily academic life, even personal. I am fully capable of incorporating these models tailored to my students and their needs. It will surely take a while to adapt, motivate, and finally make COVA work for everyone. However, I am happy to complete the blended learning, understand how it works, and uses the best model or mix for my students. Nelly Roldan

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Spanish 1

Which are your expectations about learning Spanish? Give the opportunity to share with Hispanic speaker people.

Comments


bottom of page